Nissan Motor Company Limited is a Japanese automobile company founded in 1914 under the Datsun brand. Nissan is a part of and derives its name from the Nissan Group, one of 15 of Japan’s most powerful business groupings. Headquartered in Nishi-ku, Yokohama, the company now sells its vehicles under the brands Nissan, Datsun and Infiniti. Nissan also produces in-house performance tuning products under the label Nismo. 

As of 2013, Nissan became the sixth largest automaker in the world behind Toyota, General Motors, Volkswagen Group, Hyundai Motor Group, and Ford, and in 2014 it became the largest car manufacturer in North America.  

The Nissan Company has an alliance with Renault with Nissan holding a 15% non-voting stake in Renault while Renault holds a 43.4% voting stake in Nissan. The two companies also shared a CEO in Carlos Ghosn for 8 years. Ghosn stepped down as CEO of Nissan on April 1 2017 but remained Chairman of the company until 19 November 2018 when he was ousted after being arrested and facing allegations of underreporting his income to the Japanese financial authorities. 

The two companies remain in an alliance however, and now the Renault-Nissan alliance when taken together add up to be the fourth largest automobile manufactures in the world. 

Nissan’s current CEO, Hiroto Saikawa announced in January 2018 that all models of Infiniti launched from 2021 onward will be either all-electric or hybrid vehicles. 

In addition to being the leading Japanese brand in Russia, Mexico and China, Nissan is also the world’s largest electric motor vehicle manufacturer, boasting a total of over 320,000 in electric vehicle sales as at April 2018.  




How Nissan Came to be 

The first Datsun motor vehicle was produced in 1914 by Japan’s first automaker, Kaishinsha Motor Car Works established in July 1911. The car was named DAT as an acronym of the surnames of the company’s investors, Kenjiro DenRokuro Aoyama and Meitaro Takeuchi. The company would go on to undergo two name changes, once in 1918 to Kaishinsha Motorcar Company Ltd. and again to DAT Jidosha & Co., Ltd. (DAT Motorcar Co.) in 1925. A merger in 1926 with Jitsuyo Jidosha Co., Ltd saw the company renamed again to DAT Jidosha Seizo Co., Ltd Automobile Manufacturing Co., Ltd. 

The company produced a number of light car and truck models under the name Lila for a few years. Then in 1931, a much smaller car model became the first Datson ever producedThe name meant “Son of DAT”, but the “Son” was soon changed to “Sun” because the word can be translated as “loss” in Japanese. 

The Nihon Sangyo Group was founded in 1928 by Yoshisuke Aikawa, and the name was abbreviated to Nissan for use on the Japanese stock market. The group had business in autopart manufacture but did not produce automobiles until 1933 when Tobata Casting, a Nissan Company merged with DAT Jidosha Seizo. 



Nissan has had sixteen presidents and chief executive officers since inception: 

1933–1939: Yoshisuke Aikawa 

1939–1942: Masasuke Murakami 

1942–1944: Genshichi Asahara 

1944–1945: Haruto Kudo 

1945–1945: Takeshi Murayama 

1945–1947: Souji Yamamoto 

1947–1951: Taichi Minoura 

1951–1957: Genshichi Asahara  

1957–1973: Katsuji Kawamata  

1973–1977: Tadahiro Iwakoshi 

1977–1985: Takashi Ishihara  

1985–1992: Yutaka Kume  

1992–1996: Yoshifume Tsuji 

1996–2001: Yoshikazu Hanawa  

2001–2017: Carlos Ghosn 

2017–present: Hiroto Saikawa 


Current Nissan Vehicles in Production 

1950–present Nissan Patrol/Safari  

1957–present Nissan Skyline  

1973–present Nissan Caravan 

1978–present Nissan Pulsar 

1981–present Nissan Maxima 

1981–present Nissan Prairie 

1982–present Nissan Atlas 

1982–present Nissan Micra 

1982–present Nissan Sentra 

1983–present Nissan Urvan 

1985–present Nissan Pathfinder  

1988–2010, 2012–present Nissan Cima  

1991–present Nissan Serena  

1993–present Nissan Altima 

1998–present Nissan Cube 

1998–present Nissan Elgrand 

1998–present Nissan Navara/Frontier 

2000–present Nissan Sylphy 

2001–present Nissan X-Trail 

2003–present Nissan Murano 

2003–present Nissan Teana 

2004–present Nissan Armada  

2004–present Nissan Fuga  

2004–present Nissan Lafesta 

2004–present Nissan Titan 

2005–present Nissan Note 

2006-present Nissan Livina 

2007–present Nissan Clipper  

2007–present Nissan Latio 

2007–present Nissan Qashqai 

2007–present Nissan Rogue 

2007–present Nissan Versa 

2008–present Nissan GT-R 

2009–present Nissan 370Z Z34  

2009–present Nissan Leaf 

2009–present Nissan NV200 

2010–present Nissan Juke 

2010–present Nissan NV400  

2011–present Nissan NV 

2011–present Nissan NV100 

2012–present Nissan NV350 

2013–present Nissan Dayz  

2014–present Nissan Dayz Roox  

2014–present Nissan NV300  

2016–present Nissan Kicks 

2018–present Nissan Terra 


Former Nissan Vehicles in Production 

1937–1943 Nissan Type 70  

1937–1941 Nissan 80 Truck  

1939–1941 Nissan Type 50 

1941 Nissan Type 30 

1941 Nissan Type 53 

1941–1949 Nissan 190 Bus 

1941–1952 Nissan 180 Truck  

1955 Nissan 482 Truck 

1953–1955 Nissan 490 Bus 

1958–1959 Nissan 582 Truck 

1955–1958 Nissan 590 Bus 

1958–1959 Nissan 592 Bus 

1956–1982 Nissan Junior Pickup 

1957–1981 Nissan Caball 

1957–2001 Nissan Bluebird 

1969–1977, 1989–2002 Nissan Skyline GT-R 

1958–1964 Nissan Cablight 

1959–1970 Nissan Fairlady 

1960–2004 Nissan Cedric/Gloria 

1965–1997 Nissan Homy 

1965–2010 Nissan President 

1965–2006 Nissan Sunny 

1968 Nissan R380 

1968–1969 Nissan 681 Truck 

1968–1975 Nissan Cabstar 

1968–2002, 2014 Nissan Laurel 

1977–1992 Nissan Stanza 

1986–1988 Nissan Stanza Wagon 

1982–1986 Nissan Violet 

1977–2002 Nissan 200SX  

1978–2010 Nissan Vanette 

1979–1988 Nissan Gazelle 

1980–1999 Nissan Leopard  

1982–2004 Nissan Multi 

1984–1987 Nissan 300C 

1984–1989 Nissan 300ZX Z31  

1986–1992 Nissan Pintara 

1986–2002 Nissan Terrano 

1986–1997 Nissan Hardbody Truck 

1988–1998 Nissan Largo 

1988–2003 Nissan Cefiro  

1989 Nissan R89C 

1989–1992 Nissan S-Cargo 

1989–1998 Nissan 180SX  

1989–1998 Nissan 240SX  

1990 Nissan Axxess 

1990 Nissan NPT-90 

1990 Nissan R90C 

1990–1992 Nissan Presea R10 

1990–1999 Nissan 300ZX Z32  

1990–2003 Nissan Avenir 

1990–2008 Nissan Primera 

1991 Nissan Figaro 

1991 R91CP 

1991 Nissan Saurus Jr. 

1991–1996 Nissan NX 

1991–1996 Nissan 100NX 

1992 R92CP 

1993–2009 Nissan Crew 

1994–1996 Nissan Presea R11 

1994–2000 Nissan Rasheen 

1994–2005 Nissan Wingroad 

1995–1998 Nissan 200SX  

1996–2007 Nissan Stagea 

1997–1998 Nissan R390 GT1 

1997–2001 Nissan R’nessa 

1997–2008 Nissan Kubistar  

1998–2011 Nissan Interstar 

1999 Nissan R391 

1999–2001 Nissan Hypermini 

1999–2003 Nissan Bassara 

2000–2015 Nissan Xterra 

2001–2009 Nissan Platina  

2001-2014 Nissan Primastar 

2001–2016 Nissan Moco  

2005–2013 Nissan Otti  

2007–2011 Nissan Clipper Rio  

2007–2010 Nissan Pino  

2008–2012 Nissan Kix  

2009–2013 Nissan Pixo  

2009–2013 Nissan Roox 

There is a mobile optimised version of this page: View AMP version

Refrigerated Vans, Freezer Vans and Bespoke Vehicle Customisation - Glacier Vehicles

Searching for high quality fridge vans, freezer vans or refrigerated vehicles? Look no further. Glacier Vehicles have an unrivalled selection of new and used refrigerated vans in stock at any one time...